Can I be forgiven?

“..And Jesus said to her,“Neither do I condemn you; go and sin no more.”

John 8:11

I stood before the Master, surrounded by my accusers.  There were so many witnesses. They all could attest to my wrongs.  I had been caught in the very act.  What hope could I possibly have? Soon I would be condemned.  But then the strangest thing happened.  The Master did not say a word.  He went to the ground and began to write.  He then turned to all my accusers and said these words. “He that is without sin among you, let him be first to cast a stone at her” I braced myself ready to be killed.  But all I heard was the sound of stones falling to the ground and people walking away. Could it be?  Had I been spared?  What I deserved was death and yet I stood here alive.

He then spoke to me. My heart was calm. An incredible peace came over me.  , “Woman, where are those accusers of yours?  “Has no one condemned you?” I looked around and answered “No man, Lord.”  Then with these words He changed my life. “Neither do I condemn you: go and sin no more.”

Can I be forgiven? Without a doubt! Forgiveness is not easy for you or me.  Even forgiving ourselves can be a challenge. Often it is difficult to move on from sin.  However if we come before God with a sincere heart, truly repentant of our sins, and receive Jesus Christ as our Lord and savior, we are forgiven.  Jesus paid the price for our sins on the cross.  There he was crucified and shed every last drop of blood so that we might be cleansed of our sins and forgiven.

Although once we are forgiven, Jesus expects us to make a habit of righteous living. While it is no longer our habit to live a sinful life we still fail and believe me Jesus knew we would.  This is why He taught His disciples to pray the “Our Father”.  The line in question is “forgive us our trespasses…” He is still willing to forgive. But we must remember to apply that clear directive to our lives as well, “now go and sin no more.”

Send comments to bibleaid@yahoo.com

