75th Anniversary!

Behold, how good and how pleasant it is For brethren to dwell together in unity! Psalm 133:1

Today my church will celebrate its 75th anniversary with a great banquet. It should be a great time for all. Many will be recognized and honored, but none more than God.

It is God that with his mercy and power have kept the doors of our church opened. How can I begin to thank Him; for such a blessing cannot be measured!

It was there that I discovered the truth of Christ’s sacrifice and the incomprehensible love and mercy He has had for me. It was in church that I discovered the wisdom and richness of His word. It was there that I found a family of loving and caring brethren. While at church I studied at the feet of her preachers, the greatest of all, my dad the Rev. Doc. Cecilio Melendez.

I am a teacher of over 20 years of professional experience and for all the recognition I have received from supervisors and students, I must thank God, my church, and my Sunday school teacher, sister Pilar Santiago. It was Pilar who at the age of seven placed me in front of the entire congregation to explain what I had learned in Sunday school. I did this over and over again until all fear was gone. Now I am willing and able to stand in public in any venue to speak at a moment’s notice.

I continue to serve at my church; but it is not the church that owes me. On the contrary, it is I that owes the church for the countless opportunities it has given me to serve God, be a blessing for my fellow man, and grow continuously before The Lord.

May the International Christian church “The Saviour” Inc. stand until the coming of our lord, that many others may reap bountiful blessings from God in her splendid halls and in the midst of her loving people.

Leave a Reply

