Abortion, potential forever lost!

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; Jeremiah 5:1

He was born in the woods in a one room log cabin with a dirt floor. There was little money, but plenty of hard work. At a tender age he lost his mother. Although a difficult start to life, his was definitely a life worth living. He became, who many believe to be, our greatest president, Abraham Lincoln.

George Herman Ruth, Jr., was one of 8 children. He was born into poverty and saw 6 of his siblings die due to disease and poverty. He was placed in an orphanage. Later known as Babe Ruth, he become the greatest baseball player of all time.

Dave Thomas, was given up for adoption at birth and his adoptive mother died by the time he was five. He dropped out of school at the age of ten to work at a restaurant. Later in life he founded the chain of restaurants known as Wendy’s.

Life isn’t always easy, but it’s still worth living. What is the value of a life? What value could we place on the contributions of such great pillars as mentioned above and countless others who were adopted or suffered other hardships early in life like Steve Jobs, Jamie Foxx, Dr. Ruth Westheimer, Marilyn Monroe, Scott Hamilton, Malcolm X, Bo Diddley, and George Washington Carver and others? Due to poverty and the lack of a stable home perhaps many of the individuals mentioned could have been a candidate for abortion.

Regardless of the obvious value of life there have been over 35 million abortions this year. In the United States 22% of all pregnancies, not including miscarriages, end in abortion. (http://www.worldometers.info/abortions/).

Psalm 139: 3-16 has this to say about life, before birth. 

3 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

Among all those abortions were there captains of industry, leaders of nations, and individuals of extraordinary talent or intelligence? We will never know. God places the value of our lives high even before we are born. Call it what you want abortion, termination, murder, choice, but it still ends a life, a life whose potential has been lost forever. A life created by God.

Leave a comment