Sarah’s Gift

Daddy’s birthday was today and everybody was busy preparing their gifts. Sarah was not too happy when her mother came into her room. Mom asked, “What are you doing in your bed?” Sarah answered, “I don’t have anything for daddy” Mom offered, “Oh dear why don’t you just make him a card. He loves those.” But Sarah was not satisfied and complained, “That’s what I gave him for Christmas. I need to give him something else.” Mom countered rather sternly, “Well it’s not going to happen if you spend the day moping in your bed. Get up and you might get an idea.”

Sarah dragged herself out of bed and started to walk around the house aimlessly. First she saw Johnny putting together a model car. “Surely dad would be pleased by that,” she thought. Dad loved cars. She got to the kitchen and there was Liza. She was so good in the kitchen. “What are you making?” “I’m making Daddy’s favorite, Pineapple cake,” Liza answered. Sarah just shook her head. Liza asked “What’s wrong little sis?” “Everybody has something for daddy except me.” Sarah exclaimed as she stormed out of the kitchen.

She was outside and alone, looking at all of her sports gear. She thought to herself “My daddy is so good to me. He always thinks of me. He provides me with what I really like and all I really need. He picks me up when I am hurt and knows just when I need a hug. He comes home tired from work and takes out the time to play sports with me. He’s the best daddy in the world.” That’s when it came to her. She was a girl on a mission now. She burst into the house and raced upstairs. She tore into her arts and crafts box. She worked feverishly to get it done. Something was missing. She ran to her closet. “I know it’s in here. I never use them. She found them. She pulled the strings of the shoes and tied it to the gift. It was done.

Daddy got home from work and Sarah was waiting at the door. She gave her daddy the biggest hug as she felt herself being lifted off the ground. “Happy birthday daddy”, she said. With a big smile he thanked her. Sarah announced, “Well dinner is ready daddy, mommy made your favorite, a big juicy steak and Liza made a delicious pineapple cake. Don’t tell her I said anything it’s supposed to be a surprise.” Daddy laughed, “Don’t worry honey it will be our little secret”

The cake was served, the song had been sung and the gifts delivered. Now it was Sarah’s turn. “Here daddy, I really love you, so here.” Daddy read it and began to smile. “Are you sure Sarah? You don’t have to.” “Yes daddy I told you I love you so let’s go.” They both walked out of the kitchen and into the living room. Daddy attached his iPhone to the speakers and soon you could hear a beautiful song playing. Sarah was holding her dancing shoes, “Well give me the strings daddy.” The shoes were tied and now daddy said, “May I have this dance?” “Well of course daddy.” The rest of the family stood watching in amazement.

What was left on the table was a certificate for one free dance. Daddy had bought the dancing shoes for Sarah as a Christmas gift. Sarah had tossed the gift into her closet and quickly forgot about them. Even though she knew how much her father loved to dance and had urged her to try, Sarah thought dancing was a waste of time and had totally disregarded the gift.

Like Sarah we love our heavenly father and enjoy all His many blessings and yet we often forget what He wants from us. This Christmas let us give God the greatest gift, ourselves. Sometimes giving our time to God can feel like a great sacrifice, but that is what He desires from us. Let us try to spend more time in prayer, reading the bible and meditating in Him. Sarah also had disregarded a gift from her father. God has given us each abilities and talents that are great responsibilities in our hands. We must wisely put them to use. It is what He expects, will please Him and will no doubt be a great blessing in our lives.

Matthew 25:20-21

20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ 21 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’

Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

Psalm 1:1-6

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers. The wicked are not so, but are like chaff that the wind drives away. Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous;

Matthew 6:33

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

 

3 thoughts on “Sarah’s Gift

Leave a Reply

