Jesus is better than Hercules

I just saw a really fun movie with my kids, “The Legend of Hercules (2014), ” and even though some critics didn’t like it the boys and me thought it was really entertaining. The subject of how Hercules compares to Jesus came up. Zeus is Hercules father and Jesus the son of God, Hercules was procreated with the purpose of saving people(according to this movie) and Jesus came to save the world, both had supernatural power, both could call upon their father and speak to their father, and the kids kept discussing it. Then Samuel my second son said,”but Jesus is better” and everyone simultaneously agreed.

The daddy in me was really proud that his kids came to this conclusion all on their own. This thought, that Jesus is the one and only true “Super” hero, actually passes my mind every time I see a superhero movie and trust me I’ve seen a lot. The boys and I love the genre. It doesn’t matter if it’s the xmen, the guardians, the avengers, or the justice league. We each have our favorite and mine is Superman. The truth is I don’t remember so many superhero movies when I was growing up. It’s as if we have become a culture that desperately seeks a hero or should I say a savior. But we already have one!

My son said it best, “He (Jesus) is the best because He saved the whole world with Love.” Not only is He the best but unlike all the others He is not just another story. He really came and spoke to the storms, raised the dead and battled legions of demons. Most importantly he came with the purpose of saving the world. He came with the purpose of saving you and me! All we have to do is believe in Him, recognize His sacrifice on the cross, repent of our sins and accept Him as Lord and Savior. While we’re at it, we can definitely all agree with my sons, Jesus is better than Hercules!

Verses

John 3:16

16 “For God so loved the world,[a] that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

John 14:6

6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

More verses on Salvation

More Bibleaid articles on salvation

Enhanced by Zemanta